top of page

One Chance

Well it has been a whole month sense I last posted. A lot of things have been going on in Chicago. For one a man named Jason Van Dyke was convicted of 2nd degree murder and 16 counts of aggrivated battery. The he was convicted was because he shot a 16 year old boy name Laquan McDonald and the boy died before the ambulance got on the scene. Here is the link to the video from that night https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ykkxV6oUCOs. It is a very graphic video but by the video coming out. The people of Chicago got to see what really happened one night in 2014. The City of Chicago has had conflict between the people and the police department for a long time. The People of Chicago are now standing up for their rights and to make the law just for all people, but mostly for the people of color. In Chicago people of color are more likely to be arrested and charged for something that the police reported. I am not trying get on anyones nerves or push any buttons, but while in Chicago I have noticed this while walking down the road or just being with a group of friends and the officers is more likely to talk to the white male vs the person of color male. This has me in awe because I have been in my little town of griffin and I did not see thing happening or did not hear about it. The idea that racial biases really still hinder the people of colors lives and their families is just something that I am trying to sit with and process still. I know that my ideas and my morals are different from others, but this has really hit my heart hard. I just wanted to let everyone know what I am going through and what is really impacting the me and the people in Chicago.

God Bless!

Ruth Boggs


bottom of page